Crew Chief Club on NASCAR LIVE

It's all about NASCAR

Max Papis top Raybestos Rookie in Heluva Good! Sour Cream Dips at The Glen Qualifying

Posted by Digory Kirke on August 8, 2009

2009 Raybestos Rookie Contender

2009 Raybestos Rookie Contender

Where the Raybestos Rookies qualified at Watkins Glen:

Papis 16th
Speed 26th
Logano 35th

RAYBESTOS® ROOKIE CONTENDER QUALIFYING QUOTES FOR THE HELUVA GOOD! SOUR CREAM DIPS AT THE GLEN NASCAR SPRINT CUP SERIES RACE AT WATKINS GLEN INTERNATIONAL.

MAX PAPIS IN THE No. 13 GEICO TOYOTA WAS THE TOP RAYBESTOS ROOKIE IN QUALIFYING TODAY AT WATKINS GLEN.

Papis will start 16th in Sunday’s race, his best start in 10 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races.

Papis was the Raybestos Rookie of the Race at Infineon (Sonoma, Calif.) Raceway earlier this season (race No. 16) where he scored a career-best 12th-place finish.

All three Raybestos Rookies entered at Watkins Glen qualified for the race.

PAPIS: DOES QUALIFYING GET ANY EASIER ON FRIDAY AFTERNOONS? “No, it doesn’t get any easier let me tell you. We did a great job all day today with the GEICO crew. They gave me a great car. You know being out of the top-35 is definitely something that requires all the mental effort. You can’t really go out and push it super-hard because there is too much to risk. I pushed myself. I said go, go hard, go hard, doesn’t matter. Even if it comes back in a ball of fire it’s better like that than not making the show. It’s still not easy to push yourself when you know that a slip of a half a second can cost the race and the effort of the weekend. So far I’m really pleased and we’ve got a fast car in the GEICO Toyota. Let me tell something: I really love all the crowd out here. I want to say thanks to all the people. Thanks for all the support because you guys mean the world for me and you are riding with me. Thanks a lot guys. Love you.”

ARE YOU MORE COMFORTABLE ON A ROAD COURSE VERSUS AN OVAL? “You know here we got to test the car and we knew what we h ad in our hands. So it was like alright, we know that if we do a good job we can go fast. It’s not easy when you are going to new tracks like ovals where we’ve never been, never run the car once, and you’ve only got six or eight laps to prove how you can do it. It’s difficult but it’s relatively easier.”

WHAT WOULD BE A GOOD FOR YOU HERE ON SUNDAY? “Win the race. I really feel that, you know, I’m going to be out there grinding my teeth and pushing as hard as I can and I think that’s definitely the way you need to race these races. If you are conservative you go backward.”

SCOTT SPEED, No. 82 RED BULL TOYOTA:

ARE YOU PLEASED WIT THAT LAP? “I think we said before going in there we knew we didn’t have good pace. We’ve been struggling with the braking area since we got here. I’d say for us it was a good lap. It was really clean, did everything I wanted it do so I’m really happy with that. We got it solidly in the show and you know we have all day tomorrow to make it better for the race.”

WHAT DOES YOUR CAR NEED TO DO TO PASS CARS HERE AND FOR YOU TO HAVE A GOOD DAY ON SUNDAY? “Stop [laughs]. If it stops good and if it comes off the corner good you’re going to have a good day.”

JOEY LOGANO, No. 20 THE HOME DEPOT TOYOTA:

THIS WAS A CHALLENGING DAY FOR YOU. “I don’t know, I just screwed up by three tenths my qualifying lap so I deserve to start in the back.”

HOW DIFFICULT IS IT TO QUALIFY HERE? YOU HAVE LIMITED EXPERIENCE. “It’s tough. It’s definitely one place that I feel like the Nationwide car hurt me for qualifying at least where I just overdrove every corner after getting out of the other car. You don’t realize how much more speed you’re carrying over here than over there and drove it off the racetrack. At least we know we’re better than where we’re starting but I have my work cut out for me.”

MY WORD

GO JOEY GO! WIN the Raybestos Rookie Contender Award! YOU ARE THE ROOKIE OF THE YEAR, SHOW THEM!

Leave a Reply

 
